Extreme Weather Guidelines

Dear Parents,

Brrrrrrrrr. It is cold! I believe it is important to let you all know that the GECDSB has an extreme weather guideline for all schools and Principals to use when considering exposure to extreme weather conditions.

As the Principal it is my responsibility to check weather when needed to determine the appropriateness for children’s outdoor fitness breaks. The results of knowing the temperature, windchill, humidex and weather condition could result in many decisions from cancelling recess to shortening recess to allowing recess to exist status quo.

As the Principal of Eastwood I check the weather measurements regularly on our government weather channel, I use a weather radio, I call neighbouring schools and I use good judgement (as a parent and Principal) to make decisions about outdoor play.

If you have any questions for me regarding the guidelines we use for weather conditions please do not hesitate to call me. I would be happy to share them with you. Thanks for your concern regarding the cold temperatures we have been experiencing this week. I am glad to hear you are using AM800 to keep up to date on the messages they are sending regarding our schools. I appreciate your diligence and concern for the students and staff at Eastwood.

Mr. Cowper

Comments are closed.